That’s a Piece of Cake!

 

believe

I am working with verse mapping this week – with a light heart story to connect Jesus to your life. 

IMG_0935

“But to all who believed Him and accepted Him. He gave the right to become chidren of God” John 1:12

I love cake – oh boy – oh boy… I always in the mood to bake one and decorate all like the one’s I see on pinterest.

But you can say I have a bad case of Pinterest fail. I am not the best baker. I envy Cake Boss. I also envy that girl down the street that makes gorgeous pink zebra stripe cakes for a 2 year old. I guess I will have to stick to Betty Crocker and the wonderful icing in the plastic cup. Which you are always tempted to take that spoon and indulge in that double double trouble chocolate!

I take my metal pans out the oven. I leave them to cool for 15 minutes. I come back, say a little prayer, and flip them. Only for them to come out half and half. Great !!

We really need this cakes done like yesterday for the church party. You don’t want to come in with half a cake which they will think – “she couldn’t get to church before munching on it!!”

We need help, fast!

That crumb sitting them is not attached to the cake. It is a reject. It seems like the cake just said you are damage – and you will not be part of this beautiful creation. The crumb looks around and feels like an outcast. Suddenly, a knife comes and picks the crumb up. The crumb is put back on the cake and viola – it is slapped with icing . Now, the crumb is part of that beautiful cake. Everyone will oooo and awww at you creation while you smile thinking ‘ hey, this wasn’t as bad as I thought!”

This fits into the chapter Five : From Damaged Goods to Trophy of Grace Limitless Life. Yes, I am going somewhere with this.

We can find ourselves not part of a greater purpose. We feel like the outcast and not good enough. I know I can think – how can I ever get better? How can ever be forgiven with all the damaged I did, people I hurt, the stigma that follows me?

Lets use the Samaritan woman at the well as an example.  She was an outcast because she was damaged ( like our cake). She felt so ashamed of her life. She felt like a failure and all she knew was the pain of her past. So many other’s judged her. I can be in her shoes any day of the week. I can do something and think “If anyone knew this – I would be outcast out.” Maybe by friends, family and even church.

The most beautiful thing will happen. Jesus will reach out to you. Even though He knows all your flaws and sins He still loves you the same and He wants you to be part of His family. He wants you to be healed and put back together. He doesn’t care how damaged you are. We have the power of Grace. We do not deserve to be put back together. We do not have to do anything to earn it. With the repentance of your sins – just admitting every dark secret you have – you will be given the gift of Grace. This brings tears to my eyes.

“Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think” Eph. 3:29″

Go ahead – go from damaged to having that gift of newness – to start over fresh. And the best thing is – IT IS FREE!

Okay back to our cake.

That crumb was iced over and put back on the whole. A knife picked up that crumb and place it back on the cake. Than comes that favorite part – icing. This is carefully iced on. The cake is whole again and looks so beautiful and delicious.  You are so proud !

The piece of cake believed it was going to somehow become a whole. The cake accepted the gift of grace  and it turned it to important part of this masterpiece.

Let the Knife be Jesus – putting you back on to be whole and new. Let the icing be the Holy Spirit using you to bind the works of Jesus. Let the whole cake be you – beautiful and wonderful made by Christ that loves you so much.

You are NO LONGER damaged!

Now dig in!! That is one thing that will never damage you – the yummy taste of a moist cake!

cake

Image9

P31 OBS Blog Hop

2 thoughts on “That’s a Piece of Cake!

  1. Loved the post, loved the verse mapping, loved the whole cake story…simply loved the biblical cake comparison at the end…and boy oh boy do you cut yourself short, that cake looks amazing. Definitely talented…stay blessed! 🙂

  2. Loved your post and the visual of the cake, crumb and how something damaged with the icing was made to look wonderful . How our damaged not so great looking life can be made into something beautiful and be wonderfully made over by Christ. Thanks for sharing such a great visual with us . Next time I have a problem with a cake I hope to remember this. Blessings on your life.
    Marilyn ( Proverbs 31 Ministry OBS Team)

Leave love :

