Won’t you be my Neighbor?

house19_policecar_front-588x784

Psalm 55:14

What good fellowship we once enjoyed
as we walked together to the house of God

When I think of community – Mr. Rogers pops in my head. I remember him coming through the door – change is outdoor sweater     to his hang out sweater. ( never understood why?) Next thing you know, you are whisk away to a kingdom of puppets. During these travels to the make-believe land we are seeing these puppets encounter some drastic problems. – well, as a kid they are drastic –

While I read this subject of blogging about community now it clicked. Mr. Rogers had a community set up. Think about it, these ‘characters’ would encounter dilemmas and the whole community would gather together to help out with the problem. Mr. Rogers wants to have a friend to help him along. He always invited his friends ( you ) to hope on that cool trolley and take a trip to make-believe land.

Isn’t that what it is all about? Helping each other out. God created us to have relationships. We are connected by the love and understanding of Jesus. He did not want us to be alone. When we are alone that’s when the enemy comes in and starts telling you lies. Like – “you are not good enough! No one wants to help you? Are you serious, you don’t have the ability to be out in the community!”

I went though this phase once before. It is hard to shake those feelings. Once you go out your comfort zone and see the works of a community ( in church, neighborhoods,family,studies) you see more blessings.

We have web connecting each other through the the love of that Power of connections. Once we have prayed to God, He will open your eyes to you will see that we are capable of holding ourselves up along with others. We all have burdens that weigh us down. God tells us to help each other with burdens. To carry each other during those hard times. Become a community – hold each other up – pray for each other cry on each other love God with all our hearts combined.

We as a Christian community can out stand anything the world throws out. Remember, you are worth so much – not for yourself but for others.

28578632a0f45ad493974e64b3488c5c

 

Mr. Rogers Theme Song – you can not make it sound more perfect for a community.


It’s a beautiful day in this neighborhood, 
A beautiful day for a neighbor, 
Would you be mine? 
Could you be mine? 

It’s a neighborly day in this beautywood, 
A neighborly day for a beauty, 
Would you be mine? 
Could you be mine? 

I have always wanted to have a neighbor just like you, 
I’ve always wanted to live in a neighborhood with you. 

So let’s make the most of this beautiful day, 
Since we’re together, we might as well say, 
Would you be mine? 
Could you be mine? 
Won’t you be my neighbor? 

Won’t you please, 
Won’t you please, 
Please won’t you be my neighbor? 

 

P31 OBS Blog Hop

This blog is connected to my first blog hop with the first Bible study with the P31 Ministries. I am excited to see what I learn as I Christian woman! Thanks for reading my blog!! 

10 thoughts on “Won’t you be my Neighbor?

  1. Congrats on your first blog hop!! I totally sang the song when I read it!! Who knew all those years ago Mr Rodgers would still be impacting the world today 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts, the song, and for putting a smile on my face!!

    Trish (Proverbs 31 Ministries OBS Team)

    • I sortof feel like a rockstar when I saw you comment on my blog! How awesome. I remember waiting to see Seaseme Street, Mr.Rodgers, and reading rainbow come one! Life as a kid! Phew… was amazing!

  2. “Our job is to love others without stopping to inquire whether or not they are worthy.” I absolutely love this!! Great blog. Thank you for sharing!!

  3. I love the connection to Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood. That was such a big part of my childhood as well and a good foundation for community! The quote you have in the middle is perfect! Thanks for sharing your insight!

  4. I love your correlation of community and Mr.Rogers! In the theme song for the show, I knew he asked to be “your neighbor,” but I never thought of it being more than just a catchy tune. Aren’t we all looking for that love? After all we were first created by God to be his companion and “community.” One of main commands is to “love your neighbor as yourself,” so out of the mutiplw instructions God mentioned through his servants, He chose to place this among the top of the list. Life is not easy, so we need one another for encouragement as receiving the blessing of God’s love!

Leave love :

