Nothing to fear – unless it is a spider!

spider3

I am a chicken when it comes to different things in life. I am scared of heights, anxiety attacks and not getting the item on sale when it clearly says it’s on sale in the ad.-  ( that should be a totally different blog itself).

Fear is defined as following:

  1. feeling of anxiety: an unpleasant feeling of anxiety or apprehension caused by the presence or anticipation of danger
  2. frightening thought: an idea, thought, or other entity that causes feelings of fear

We all have fears right – I have a number of them.

  • 1.) being a failed mom
  • 2.) not living to my purpose
  • 3.) Not been a Godly wife
  • 4.) losing my temper in public
  • 5.) not living to see my children have children.

Those are my top five – I need to throw in spiders also – that comes to close #6.

How am I suppose to handle my fears. For the longest time, I held a lot over myself. I was actually afraid on ME. How could that be? I was my worst enemy. I was judging myself, putting myself down, thinking horrible thoughts ( that nagging voice while looking at myself in the mirror, saying I looked fat in that outfit! )

It has taking some time – months – years and an ongoing battle on how to put my armor up and chase off those ugly thoughts of fears out on my mind and life!

I know I have to take a hold of my thoughts and feelings and turn them  into something positive. Easier said than done, right?

Where does that help come from –

fear

Timothy 1:7 “For God did NOT give us a spirit of FEAR. He gave us a spirit of Power and a Good Mind.”

Wow! Yes, I can overcome fears in my life. God didn’t make me so I could hide because it is a big bad world. I know now I have the gift of POWER and LOVE that gives me a free mind. How awesome is that?

The scripture is full of weapons to use to overcome our weaknesses.

What can I do when I (you) are overcome with fear? How can I find strength?

 

fear2

Psalm 46″1-2″ God is our refuge and strength, always ready to help in times of trouble. So we will not fear, even if earthquakes come and the mountains crumble into the sea”

Let those mountains crumble, let there be earthquakes. Don’t be shaken of the fear of the unknown. We have the good guy on our side.

John 14:27″ I am leaving you a gift – peace of mind and heart,… So don’t be troubled or afraid”

God promises to comfort us in our fear if we seek Him when we are afraid. We have the confident assurance that He is with us in any circumstances.

Let me share a little story real quick. We had a small bible study for women starting up. At first I was like no way! Even worse, when I walked in and saw those 200 women , I was about to run the opposite direction. This was very out my comfort zone. Week by week I have been attending the classes. We are broken up in smaller groups. I know God put me there for a reason! Boy, did I need that push – He was saying ‘I have your back’ I also came across a couple of girls on a social media that lived in my area. One just popped up from literally nowhere in a group asking about a Bible study. I just mentioned a little information about the one I was attending. Several days later, she message me saying she went and signed up and was very excited. She also mentioned she was scared to death and it was totally out her norm. I told her to take a deep breath and hang on – You will be blessed. Sure enough she was there that morning. I walked by her table peeking at name tags and spotted her. And – right than, I knew that was where she belong. She is over coming her fear – and I know she will grow. Now, how does that work out – I was terrified at first and ready to hit the hills – than another girl popped in my life saying the same thing. I was the one that encouraged her. I know God put plans into action. I am excited to see where we end up. ( there was another girl who signed up this week!) I think we all made a connection! I can’t wait to actually meet them. 

So, the lesson is : don’t be scared of those little spiders. If you are – just look at this little guy. Cute, right?

spiderfunny

Make sure to sign up for email updates – I am just getting started with my blog – and I would love to branch out to help others.

Reference:”Touchpoints: God’s answers your daily needs”

One thought on “Nothing to fear – unless it is a spider!

  1. Excellent advice, Tasha. Spiders rank a little higher on my fear list, somewhere between one and two…I am a work in progress, even yet, trusting in His provision, day by day and of my own doing or understanding….

Leave love :

