A New Adventure

So – I have started a new adventure.  I am taking on a new career. 33 years old you would think I would know what I want to be when I grow up..

I went back to banking. I am starting as a teller again but have high hopes on moving up in the business. I was in banking about 9 years ago as a teller at Compass Bank. I thought when I left there I would not be coming back. Well, I was wrong.

Working at Cracker Barrel was something I needed to do for myself over a year ago. I had been a stay at home mom for years. I found myself going stir crazy as a stay at home mom. The kids were in school all day – I found that there isn’t much to do around the house. There is a whole bunch of nothing you can do everyday. Also, I knew I needed to get back in the public. I found myself lost in my own world. I had forgotten how it was to be a person interacting with another person. I had lost myself.

When I started working at Cracker Barrel in the retail shop.. I found myself blossoming into something I have never been before. I fell in love with people. I don’t know if it was because I have been held captive with the walls around me in my home. I found myself jumping around talking to people – not giving a care in the world if I was too friendly. What I found myself in the months that went by – was that I was a leader. I was approached just months after opening the store – to apply for the shift leader. I was not coming into this job expecting to advance to a management postition. I also applied to be the team lead trainer of the retail store. Just 6 months into my new job – I had advance into something that was fun and people actually looked up too.

Than life changed. I seperated from my husband of 10 years. I found myself needing to support myself and provide for my kids part time. This was not working out to well with only 25 hrs a week. I started looking for a new job.

This was a hard process for me. I loved my job. I loved going to work. Who says that? But I needed more. This was a huge step for me. Friends told me that I needed to look for a full time job. I was set in my ways. I knew it would be hard but I was set on working with my part time job.

BUT – I was not making it. I had to move in with my friends house. I am in a relationship with a man and we need to get somewhere in life. I felt like it was time for me to move on. I have goals I want to make – and I finally realized working part time I was not going to reach them.

It was hard just looking for something. How do you look for a job that you know won’t full fill you like what I had now. I used not only my people skills at Cracker Barrel – but my creative skills with the displays. I was the number one visual person when they needed me to move displays. I took pride in my job.

So, I decided to go back to something I had done before.. I had been familiar with it. And that choice was banking.

I applied again and again with banks trying to get a teller position. I knew I needed a full time job with good pay. I was looking for 10 dollars an hour. Months went by and I had no bites.

Before Christmas – I received a phone interview with Wells Fargo as a teller. I was hopeful. A couple of weeks later – I was called into a group interview. I went in with confidence. I did my group intereview making my personality shine through. I left hopeful. I did not get a reject email in the 24 hrs they said they would send. Christmas came and went – no call backs.

Than just 2 weeks ago – I was called in for a branch manager interview. I went to a location that is looked as the .. well.. ghetto. I was scared because well – it is not my ideal branch location. But, I went in with my positive attitude .. and sure enough – I was called back for a second interview with the branch manager. She said she would call me that day to let me know if I was hired. I actually didn’t leave the branch without them letting me know they would like me on their team. I was in shock.

A couple of hours later – HR called me and offered me 11 dollars .. I didn’t think I would of been offered that much. And even better, it was a full time position. I knew I could not pass it up.

Why? Because this would provide me everything I need right now. The hours are long – but it won’t take away time with the kids – the pay is good – so I can provide the kids with more – and I have half of Sat’s off and Sundays off – to spend with the kids.

God knew what He was doing.

Again, this is not my idea branch. Being a white girl – the only white girl in this location – it can be intimating. The first day I was terrified that I would not fit in. ( This location in in North Houston where there is a 15% white population)

The second day – I know this is where I need to be. It is a very busy branch – you have to be outgoing and be able to multi- task. I have to be able to handle loud personalities both from the customers and the co workers. Today I learned to just keep my mouth shut and do what I am told. I noticed a lot by people watching that this will be my best tool on advancing in the job. I know it will be difficult working there. It is no easy task. I will have to learn how to use my back bone. How to not to take things personal. And to be that outspoken person I know I have hidden in me.

However, on the way home – this thought came to mind

GOD WILL NEVER GIVE YOU MORE THAN YOU CAN HANDLE.

Psalm 22, where it says “Give you burden to the Lord and He will hold you up”

This is going to be a learning experience for me. I will grow from it.

I have to keep my chipper personality up. I can not let this job grind me down.  I am no longer scared of failure.

Cracker Barrel was a stepping stool. As hard as it was to let go –  I had to .. deep inside me something moved me.

I know I will advance in this industry.

It isn’t about working long hours or how much I get paid. It is the fulfillment of a job that is satisfying.

Leave love :

